Happy ~ Joy to the Lounge

Accents Chairs are a centerpiece to a well designed Living Room. Enter the Anti-Design Movements from the 1960s onwards and you will find that the Accents Chair may now come in quite different forms. Accent Chairs can come as one that is not so striking and one that is defined by comfort than appeal. Of course, there is always the unique forms from the Mid-Century, Modern Classics and loud colours from the Contemporary Designs of late to inject that bit of interesting factor into your Living Room Designs to anchor your visuals. A particular Design Maestro whom I felt did exceptionally well to captivate me with his Anti-Design languages is Antonio Citterio. I don’t know whether he is officially labelled as a member of this movement, but I do feel that his designs belong to this class of unique creativity. Take a look at his designs for B&B Italia, Maxalto, Flexform and even the Hansgrohe Axor Citterio series and you will probably find his designs definitely do not strike you hard at the first strike. Rather, his designs exudes class and metropolitan flavours and slowly grows on you more than being hard-hitting. Since I started this blog and had posted many of Antonio Citterio’s designs, I had grown to love his designs even more than ever. As you would have expected, this post will be another feature on his work. This time round, it will be on Happy, a Lounge Chair from Flexform by the Maestro of Anti-Design, Antonio Citterio.

Flexform Happy, for the Happy Soul.

Happy Hour adds arm rests for extra comfort.

Happy Sofa adopts the same design language as the Happy Chaise.

Like the Happy Hour, additional armrests were thrown in for good measure. But this time, its more of armrest frames than actual armrests.

Happy, as the name sounds, perhaps aims to make the person sitting on it, happy. I am amazed at its comfort levels when I first sat on it. At that time, I am not aware that is the Flexform Happy Chair and it did not strike me on my first encounter that this is such a wonderful chair. It looks just like any other cushioned easy chairs that does not seem to be able to draw my eyes to it. My wife sat on it while waiting for me to browse around and she was telling me how comfortable it is. I tried on it and viola! I sank into it. I couldn’t deny the comfort its offering. It is a design that truly put the human comfort in priority over the looks department. I’m totally drawn to Flexform Happy ever since.

The Defining Woven Leather Ropes can be seen here.

The longer Happy Chaise draws better proportions.

Happy Hour feels more complete with the thin armrests.

The Happy and Happy Hour series from Flexform were designed in 2005 and includes sofas, Easy Chairs, Armchairs and Chaise Lounges. It’s frames are available either in chromed metal or nickel-satined finishing. The soft and inviting seat cushions are available in leather and filled with Dacron. Even though Designs from the Anti-Design movement are not striking, they do have their own appeal and uniqueness. For Flexform’s Happy, this uniqueness is also equally subtle and doesn’t shout like its contemporary counterparts. The Happy is an elegant solution defined by its frame and luxurious leather. It also has that something that you will find hard to locate in other easy chairs – Woven leather ropes that stretches across the back of the chair. The motif formed by the woven leather ropes creates its appeal and makes it easy for the owner to display Happy proudly in the middle of the room to showcase its appealing back.

Furniture are best visualised in the home environment.

It’s interesting to find myself having changing preferences as I blog these furnishing. I am glad that I started this blog to got myself exposed to different possibilities, designs and a changing appetite. I have a strong feeling that my end design for my next home may be a good Eclectic mix of Modern Classic, Contemporary and Anti-Designs. I love Eclecticism. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Happy ~ Joy to the Lounge

  1. Wanted to let you know that I’ve been enjoying your great furniture suggestions and thoughtful commentary. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

